Mount Mural


Mount Mural, started out the songwriting of Clayton McMillan in February 2018 in Barrie, Ontario. Finding himself unemployed, Clayton spent much of his time holed up in his bedroom with his acoustic guitar. After a few months of songwriting, he brought his work to Kyle Gottschalk, who contributed multiple instruments and production to the project. The seeds for Mount Mural were planted, and Clayton and Kyle needed to flesh out the sound of Mount Mural. This led to them inviting Tyler Baluke (multi-instrumentalist) and Evan Smith (drums) to join them. While jamming as a full band, a unique sound began to form that consisted of dynamic builds and dreamy melodies. Self-producing the original 4 demos as a band at Clayton’s family’s old cottage home, they released their first EP There is a Better Place in July of 2018. While finishing up the EP, the band played their first gig at Springtide Music Festival on April 20th.

Genre: Alternative

Back to the 2019 lineup